2013’s Best Gift

Hi everyone!  I hope January hasn’t gone as quickly for you as it has for me?  There’s been a few changes that has happened in January, but my main one is that my time as a full time mum finally came to an end!  I can honestly say that these have been the best and most rewarding months of my life, but on the flip side, going back to work has been kind of refreshing, especially when I know my little boy is having a fab time at his childcare!

And so that brings me nicely to the Merly Impressions January challenge – My favourite moment or memory for 2013.  The only ‘rule’ for the challenge is that 2013 had to be in the title.  Easy peasy lemon squeezy! (I hope it’s not cheating when you had your first baby born in 2013?)  I also decided to combine this with the Scrap 365 February challenge as I really loved the sketch!  First of all, I must apologise for the poor quality of the photo’s, unfortunately there is not much sunlight coming through the windows this time of the year in England and doesn’t help my photo taking skills!

You Are 2013’s Best Gift

2013's Best Gift

And here is the sketch:

p

The title to my layout is inspired by one of my favourite songs called ‘You Are’ by the Daylights.  I also wrote some of the lyrics from the song as a border around the layout.  The chorus goes:

You are my first hello and my last goodbye, Your give my favourite looks from my favourite eyes, You are the lights in the constellations hiding, You’re the heavens falling from the earth tonight

You make my heart feel this and my head feel that, and I don’t mean to be sentimental but you’re the only thing that means anything, You Are, You Are, You Are…You Are.

And in the pocket I wrote a little mother to son poem for him to read one day!  I loved these papers from My Mind’s Eye, they are really colourful and eye-catching!

2013's Best Gift - Close Up 1

2013's Best Gift - Close Up 2

2013's Best Gift - Close Up 3

Thanks for looking and here’s to an exciting February!

x

10 thoughts on “2013’s Best Gift

  1. I love everything about this layout … the sentiment is wonderful, it’s a great sketch (one I’ve been meaning to try) and the colours work beautifully. each year can only get better x

  2. Wow, I love how you wrote the lyrics around like a border, what a fantastic idea! Your handwriting is lovely too. Thank you for joining in the scrap365 sketch challenge! X

Leave a Reply

