This Smile Melts My Heart

It’s not hard to do a layout when you have great material to work with!  I love this photo of my little boy, it was just a snap I took on instagram and was just one of those right place right time photo’s.  He usually wriggles around so much that some part of the photo is always blurry!

This is going to be my entry into the Merly Impressions August challenge.  I did it at my monthly crop where we used the My Mind’s Eye – Find Your Wings and Fly collection with some 12 x 12 papers and a whole load of 6 x 6 papers.  It was quite a challenge for me, because there was a lot of pink going on, so I tried to get creative to make a layout which didn’t look too girly.  The challenge this month was using a sketch:

1045183_4975532270917_485679232_n

This is my interpretation….

This Smile Melts My Heart Layout

I really enjoyed this sketch, it left lots of room to be able to do your own thing!  I used my lovely Kaisercraft background stamps (bought from Merly of course!) and some distress stain as a start, layered strips of paper on top and also added some texture paste.  The card I mounted my photo onto started off as plain white card, which I spritzed using all sorts of inks until I was happy with the result.

This Smile Melts My Heart

I cut my letters out from a printed sheet of paper, which I spritzed in the same colours that I used throughout my layout.  The lovely Linda Iswariah showed me this technique, and it’s definitely going to be something I’m going to use in the future!  I also put some glossy accents onto the ‘Smile’ part of the title just to make it stand out a little more.

And just because the layout is of my little boy, didn’t mean I couldn’t add a little sparkle…

This Smile Melts My Heart - Close Up 2

This Smile Melts My Heart - Close Up 1

8 thoughts on “This Smile Melts My Heart

  1. My goodness this is lovely. You’ve managed to combine so many techniques using different mediums in the one layout. Fab.

Leave a Reply

