Know Your History

On my recent-ish holiday to visit my family in South Africa, me and my mom pulled out some old photos (some of them were so old they were about the size of a stamp!), and we must have spent a few hours updating our family tree.  Amongst all the pictures, I found this one of my mom as a little girl, I just love it because she just looks so cute and adorable!

For this layout, I decided to enter into my first Scrap Around The World challenge.  It’s not often I see a sketch and mood board and just know how I’m going to do it (I usually look for about 3 days before making a move!).  Here is what the sketch and mood board look like:

H7 JUL 2013 A SATW AUGUST MOOD BOARD EILA

I was initially inspired by the flowers on the cake and the feathers, but also by the vintage feel of the board.  This was also a GREAT stash-busting layout for me, I used up so many bits and pieces which I’ve collected over time, it gives me an excuse now to buy some more!

Know Your History – Layout

When I saw the flowers on the cake, I knew exactly which papers I wanted to use.  There was some fussy cutting of the rose patterned paper and some good ol’ fashioned tearing of the paper around the edges!

Know Your History

I’ve had this ostrich feather sitting in my stash since my first layout!  I found a scrap piece of corrugated cardboard (from some packaging I think) and cut some random circles which I painted and stamped onto my paper.  I think this falls in line with the sketch!

Know Your History - Close Up 3

Know Your History - Close Up 2

Know Your History - Close Up 1

6 thoughts on “Know Your History

  1. Welcome to the SATW family. So happy our challenge has inspired you to jump on board. Your layout is fab, I love the stamped circles and the ostrich feather is gorgeous adds a lovely soft texture to the page. Thanks for joining in. 🙂

  2. I really like the ostrich feather, looks fab! it’s not only the photo of your mum as a little girl that is special, you have scrapped it absolutely beautifully! thank you so much for sharing this with us at SATW!

Leave a Reply

