Life’s A Beach

I think this might have to be one of my favourite layouts, not really because of the layout (even though I’m really pleased how it turned out), but because of how many new techniques I used which I’d been wanting to try for a while.  This is my entry for the Merly Impressions July Challenge – Summer Time.  The papers were all from Glitz Design – Uncharted Waters Collection.  It just turned out to be a fun layout!  I’m also going to enter this layout into the Whimsical Twist Challenge, who’s theme is also summer!

Life’s A Beach – Layout

My first thing I wanted to try was to scrap photos that I wouldn’t normally scrap, hence the ‘beach feet’!

Life's A Beach

I saw this technique in the Scrap 365 magazine, and that was to use Glossy Accents as water droplets.  I would never have thought of this but love the result!  I also wanted to use my distress stains and inks more, and just had fun splattering and inking on my page, before just layering up some of the papers and adding some embellishments.  I took the inspiration for using the distress stains from the Merly Impressions blog, I think it was a post on using distress stains.

Life's A Beach - Close Up 2

Life's A Beach - Close Up 4

10 thoughts on “Life’s A Beach

  1. So lovely! I just adore the photos – what a fun idea this “beach feet”! I love all the ink splattering :)!

  2. What an awesome layout! I love the phots, the papers and those spatters of water (Glossy Accents) is genius! Thank you so much for linking up to our summer challenge at Whimsical Twist.

  3. Love your background! So creative! I never had heard that about glossy accents…love it!! Thanks for playing along with us at Whimsical Twist!

Leave a Reply

